Human skeleton

Skeleton is the supporting frame work that provides shape, support and protection to the body.

Human skeleton consists of cartilages and 206 bones and is divided into axial and appendicular skeleton.

Cartilages are softer skeletal tissues, which mainly protect the joints and are present at the junction of two bones. Ligaments bind the bones together and restrain the movement of bones at a joint.

Bone is the tough connective tissue and is not as flexible as cartilage.

A long bone possesses a hollow cavity in the middle, filled with bone marrow. Bone marrow is of two types namely, yellow marrow and red marrow.

On the basis on shape, bones are of four types namely, long bones, short bones, flat bones and irregular bones.

Axial skeleton comprises of 80 bones, which include 29 bones of skull, 26 bones of vertebral column, and total 26 bones of ribs and the sternum.

Skull is a bony structure that encloses and protects the brain.

Vertebral column is composed of 33 serially arranged ring-like bones.

Vertebrae, sternum and ribs together form the rib cage.

Appendicular skeleton includes the bones of limbs and the girdles. Appendicular skeleton consists of 126 bones.

Pectoral girdle connects the upper limb to the axial skeleton on each side.

Pelvic girdle connects the axial skeleton to the lower limbs.

Skeletal system protects the vital tissues and organs, present in the body.

To Access the full content, Please Purchase