Parts of Speech

Every single word in English language belongs to one of just eight or nine groups according to its language function or semantics in a sentence. These groups are parts of speech. The basic eight parts of speech are nouns, pronouns, adjectives, verbs, prepositions, adverbs, interjections and conjunctions.

A noun refers to a person, place, animal or thing, or abstract quality/ feeling. Pronouns replace nouns to avoid repetition. Adjectives describe the quality of nouns. Verbs talk about the state or the action of the doer or the subject. Prepositions show the relation between a noun/ pronoun and the other words in a sentence. Adverbs describe verbs, adjectives as well as other adverbs. Interjections are words or expressions that express strong emotions or feelings. Conjunctions are used to join words, clauses or phrases together.

Through learning parts of speech we can learn how words are joined to give a meaningful sentence. Each part of speech explains how the word is used, and not just what the word is; the same word can be a noun in one sentence and a verb or an adjective in another. For example:

We walk down the street.

In this sentence, ‘walk’ is a verb.

The postman stood on the walk.

In this sentence, ‘walk’ is a noun.

To Access the full content, Please Purchase