Five Year Plans


At the time of Independence, the main challenges in front of India were to provide food to Indian population, eliminate poverty, improve the quality of life, etc. The government set up the Planning Commission in 1950. The planning commission has adopted the five year plan approach to promote economic development through economic planning.

In India, the Planning Commission was set up in 1950 and the First Five Year Plan was launched on 1st April, 1951 for the period 1951-1956. The objectives of the first five year plan were:

    To increase national income at the rate of 2.1% per annum

    To improve the standard of living

    Achieving food self-sufficiency

The Second Five Year Plan (1956-61) aimed at rapid industrialisation with special emphasis on the development of basic and heavy industries. The Third Five Year Plan (1961-66) aimed at Establishment of a self-reliant and self-generating economy and more stress on agricultural and industrial development. It was a complete failure on account of: (i) War with China and Pakistan and (ii) The failure of agriculture.

During the three years 1966-69, no planning exercise took place. This period is also termed as ‘plan holiday’

The Fourth Five Year Plan (1969-74) aimed to attain the growth with stability; self- reliance. The Fifth Five Year Plan was launched in 1974-79 and emphasis was put on the implementation of new economic policy, popularly known as 20-point economic programme.

The Sixth Five Year Plan originated from 1980-85.The objectives of the sixth five year plan were:

    Improving the rate of economic growth.

    Modernisation of the economy.

The Seventh Five Year Plan was initiated in 1985-90. And the Eighth Five Year Plan and ninth Five Year Plan in 1992-97 and 1997-2002, respectively.

The Tenth Five Year Plan (2002-2007) had remarkable achievements. They were:

    Indian economy emerged as the second fastest growing economy in the world only next to China.

    It achieved a remarkable growth rate of 8% per annum.

The achievement of the eleventh Five Year Plan 2007-2012 was that the country achieved the 8% growth rate, despite of financial crisis and economic slowdown.

The main objectives of 12th Five Year Plan 2012-2017 are: Growth should accelerate at a faster pace targeted at 8.2% and also it should be more inclusive.

To Access the full content, Please Purchase

  • Q1

    In which plan was the 20-Point Economic Programme introduced?


    The 20-Point Economic Programme was introduced in the Fifth Plan.

    View Answer
  • Q2

    What was the time period of the Eighth Five-Year Plan?


    The time period of the Eighth Five-Year Plan was 1992-97.

    View Answer
  • Q3

    What was the core theme of the Eleventh Five Year Plan?


    The core theme of the Eleventh Five Year Plan was ‘rapid and inclusive growth’.

    View Answer
  • Q4

    How many plans have so far been executed in India? State their duration.


    There are twelve five year plans which have been executed so far.
    Duration of all five year plans is:


    Time period

    First five year plan


    Second plan


    Third plan


    Three one year plan


    Fourth plan


    Fifth plan


    Sixth plan


    Seventh plan


    Eighth plan


    Ninth plan


    Tenth plan


    Eleventh plan


    Twelfth plan


    View Answer
  • Q5

    State the time period and objectives of Eleventh Five Year Plan.


    The Eleventh Five Year Plan was started on 1st April 2007 for the period 2007-2012.

    The main objectives for this planning period are:

    1. Main emphasis on social sector.

    2. Generation of adequate employment opportunities.

    3. Reduction of poverty

    4. Spread of education.

    5. Expansion of health care facilities.

    6. Development of economic infrastructure;

    7. Population control; &

    8. Control on inflationary pressures.

    View Answer