Simon Commission and Nehru Report

  • The Government of India Act of 1919 CE was drafted by Montague-Chelmsford, provided for a statutory commission to be set up at the end of ten years.
  • Simon Commission appointed in 1927 was the outcome of this provision.
  • Indians were promised self-government since First World War.
  • Commission was an “all white” Commission with Sir John Simon as President.
  • Congress Session of Madras, leaders decided to boycott the Commission.
  • The slogan “Simon, go back” became a tool.
  • Lala Lajpat Rai succumbed to lathi charge.
  • Lord Birkenhead challenged the Indian leaders to draft a constitution acceptable to all parties.
  • Indian Response, a committee headed by Motilal Nehru, was formed to draft a Constitution.
  • The report became famous as Nehru Report, demanded ‘Dominion Status for India’, and gave views on the form of Government, Parliament and Communal Representation.
  • The Nehru report was rejected by the Muslim League, the Sikhs, Non-Brahmins, Backward and Depressed communities.
  • Subhas Chandra Bose and J.L Nehru demanded complete independence.
  • The Labour Party formed British Government in Britain.
  • Lord Irwin promised a Round Table Conference to draw a new Constitution for India.
  • Gandhi and Motilal Nehru met Indian viceroy, demanded the assurance of dominion status, meeting proved futile.
  • The Lahore Session of the Congress was presided over by Jawaharlal Nehru.
  • The resolution for Poorna Swaraj was passed, decided to boycott the Round Table Conference of Ramsay MacDonald.
  • 26th January 1930 CE was fixed as First Independence Day and Civil Disobedience was supposed to commence on this date.


To Access the full content, Please Purchase