The League of Nations

  • Devastation caused by the First World War led to the need to establish an international organisation for preventing future wars.
  • Idea of President Woodrow Wilson of the USA to create a world organization to maintain peace and prevent future wars resulted in the foundation of the League of Nations.
  • His Fourteen Points underline the creation of a general association of nations.
  • The League of Nations was formed in 1920 on the basis of 26 articles included in the Treaty of Versailles, which had concluded the First World War.
  • Its key mechanism was a collective security system that aimed at deterring war by threatening aggressors with an immediate and united response of all other member countries.
  • The organisation of the League of Nations consisted of – The Secretariat, The Assembly, Court of International Justice, The Council and International Labour Organisation.
  • The Secretariat was located at Geneva, Switzerland.
  • The Secretary General was the prominent figure.
  • The Headquarters of International Labour Organisation (ILO) were located in Geneva, Switzerland.
  • The Permanent Court of International Justice consisted of 15 judges, with its headquarters at The Hague.
  • The weakness of the League in its core was almost visible in 1931 when Japan invaded Manchuria.
  • When Italy attacked Abyssinia, all the league could do was to condemn Italy and place sanctions on it, but the League didn’t put sanctions on oil, which would have been an effective option.


To Access the full content, Please Purchase