Indian Parliament

  • A Parliament is a national representative body which has supreme legislative powers within the state.Law making powers of the Indian Union are with the Union Parliament.
  • It is a bi-cameral legislature with the House of People (Lok Sabha) as the Lower House and the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) as the Upper House. The Union Parliament is a non-sovereign legislature.
  • The union parliament has a bi-cameral structure, is non-sovereign in nature, has unequal powers of the houses, powerful legislature, provides for nominated members, etc.
  • The Rajya Sabha is the Upper House of the Union Parliament.It is the representative body of the states of the Indian Union.The representation of state is given on the basis of the size of population of the states.
  • The powers and functions of Rajya Sabha are: legislative, financial, executive, power to amend constitution, electoral, judicial and special powers.
  • The members of the Lok Sabha, except two nominated members are directly elected by the adult citizens of India. Lok Sabha has tenure of five years.It can be dissolved by the President of India, acting on the advice of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers.
  • The meetings of the Lok Sabha are presided over by the elected Speaker. The powers and functions of Lok Sabha are: legislative, financial, executive, electoral and judicial powers.
  • The Speaker is the most powerful person in the Lok Sabha. He /She enjoy supreme authority on the floor of the House.
  • The elected members of the Lok Sabha participate in the election of the President and Vice President of India and Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

To Access the full content, Please Purchase