CBSE Class 6 Science Revision Notes Chapter 9

CBSE Class 6 Science Chapter 9 Revision Notes 

The Living Organisms And Their Surroundings Class 6 Science Chapter 9 Notes explain in detail the different types of living organisms and the ecosystems surrounding them. The notes provided by Extramarks help students understand the chapter, The Living Organisms And Their Surroundings, better. These notes aim to impart in-depth knowledge and enhance students’ understanding of the given topics.

Class 6 Science Chapter 9 Notes are carefully curated by subject matter experts as per the CBSE board guidelines and exam pattern. These well-structured notes are written in the form of bullet points for students to recall all of the important topics at one glance. The notes are all-in-one study materials, which will help students effectively revise the chapter in a short time before the exam.

Class 6 Science Chapter 9 Notes are available on the Extramarks website. Students can access these notes and excel in the exams.

Revision Notes For CBSE Class 6 Science Chapter 9 

Access Class 6 Science Chapter 9 – The Living Organisms And Their Surroundings Habitat

  • Habitat refers to the environment where different species co-exist to find food, water, shelter, and safety.
  • A habitat is a living space for both plants and animals.
  • A habitat comprises two components, namely, biotic and abiotic components.
    • Biotic Components: The biotic components include all living beings, such as plants, animals, and small organisms that cannot be seen with the naked eye. Based on their ability to produce food, biotic components can be further divided into two categories, namely- autotrophs and heterotrophs.
      • Autotrophs are those components of an ecosystem that can produce food on their own. They do not depend on others for nutrients. For example, green plants.
      • On the contrary, heterotrophs depend on autotrophs for food and nutrition. For example, animals and humans. 
      • There are three kinds of heterotrophs, namely, herbivores, carnivores, and omnivores.
        • Herbivores consume green grass and plants for nutrition.
        • Carnivores consume the meat of other animals for survival.
        • Omnivores are living organisms that can consume autotrophs, herbivores, and carnivores as their food.
    • Abiotic Components: These elements are made up of all the non-living things in the environment. Soil, water, air, light, temperature, etc., are some of its examples.
  • A habitat, therefore, is a place in the environment that provides all the elements essential for the existence of living beings.

Types of Habitat

  • Depending on the nature of the habitat of the biotic components, habitats can be of two types, namely, terrestrial and aquatic.
  • Terrestrial Habitat: It refers to the habitats for plants and animals living on the land.
  • Some terrestrial habitats are listed below.
  • Coastal areas: The seashore regions are the common habitats of mangroves and coconut trees.
  • Banks of waterbodies: Frogs, turtles, alligators, ducks, crocodiles, etc., live on the banks of ponds, rivers, lakes, and other water bodies.
  • Lands: Animals like cats, deer, lions, tigers, buffaloes, etc., live on the land. The plants that grow on land where water is available in adequate quantity and survival requires a moderate temperature are called mesophytes.
  • Desert areas: Many animals like camels, lizards, and plants like cactus, aloe, etc., can be found in the sandy desert regions. 
  • Underground: Insects like beetles, crickets, termites and animals like bears, yaks, flying foxes, etc., live on the hills. The plants that grow in the hilly regions are conical in shape and evergreen in nature. Their root systems are extremely developed. The leaves look like needles. This category includes apples, pears, apricots, and almonds.
  • Snowy glacier peaks and polar regions are home to penguins and polar bears.
  • Arboreal habitat: The organisms that live on trees are known as arboreal. For example, various insects like honey bees; birds; and nocturnal creatures are arboreal.
  • Aquatic Habitat: This type of habitat is ideal for plants and creatures that live in water.
  • Hydrophytes are plants that live in water.
  • The slippery substance with which the hydrophytes’ bodies are covered is called mucilage.


  • Adaptation is the ability of organisms to survive in changing environments by developing special traits or features.
  • Adaptation helps organisms live in the habitats of their choice.
  • Changes in habitat preference or in the genetic characteristics of an organism can both be considered forms of adaptation.


  • Deserts: Creatures living in deserts usually stay in deep tunnels throughout the day and come out at night. The leaves of the plants growing in the sand are so small that they are nonexistent.The leaves are small and look like the spines of the plants. The roots go deep into the soil to extract water. The stems of such plants are coated with a wax-like substance.
  • Mountains: Animals living in the mountains have thick skin. Their bodies are covered with hair. The trees are cone-shaped with needle-like leaves on their sloppy branches.
  • Grasslands: Animals living here have dusky skin. The claws of lions are specially adapted and can be withdrawn inside the toes. Their eyes are in front of their faces. Some of the characteristic features of deer are their strong teeth, long ears, and eyes located at the sides of their heads.


  • Ponds
  • Plants rooted in soil: These plants have developed long, hollow, lightweight stems to float on the water surface.
  • Plants submerged in water: The thin leaves of these plants give them a ribbon-like appearance.
  • Oceans
  • The marine ecosystem provides shelter to many organisms. The animals living here have developed a slim body structure that helps them move quickly in the water. They have gills for breathing. Dolphins and whales breathe through blowholes.

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

1. Define the term “habitat”.

 A habitat is an area in which an organism lives and has access to all of its needs, including food, water, and air. Many creatures can co-exist in one habitat. For example, fish, hydrophytes, and several species of marine animals coexist in an aquatic habitat.

2. What is adaptation?

Adaptation is the process through which living beings acquire the ability to thrive in a changing environment, either by developing special characteristics in the structure of their bodies or by changing their habitat. For example, plants that grow in deserts have evolved a wax-like substance on their stems to survive in extremely hot temperatures.

3. How have the animals that live on grasslands evolved?

Animals living in grasslands have a dusky skin tone. Most of them have their eyes in front of their faces. Lions have specially adapted claws that can be withdrawn inside the toes. Deers have strong teeth, long ears, and eyes located at the sides of their heads.

4. How do dolphins and whales breathe?

Dolphins and whales breathe through their blowholes.

5. What is a xerophyte?

Xerophytes are plants that grow in hilly regions. Their structure gives them a cone-like appearance. Throughout the year, they are covered in a layer of greenery. The leaves look like needles. Their root system is highly developed, allowing them to penetrate deep into the soil and collect water.Apple, pear, apricot, almond, etc. are some examples of xerophyte plants.