Our Country - India

India is located in south Asia. India is bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the south-west, and the Bay of Bengal on the south-east. India shares land borders with Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north-east; and Myanmar and Bangladesh to the east. Our southern neighbours across the sea consist of the two island countries, namely Sri Lanka and Maldives. India's Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Thailand and Indonesia.

India extends between 8°4'N and 37°6'N latitudes and 68°7'E and 97°25'E longitudes. The Tropic of Cancer (23°30'N) passes almost halfway through the country. India is divided into 29 states and 7 union territories.

India is marked by a diversity of physical features such as the Himalayas, the Northern plains, the Peninsular Plateau, the Great Indian Desert, the Coastal plains, the Island groups.

The Himalayas consist of the following three parallel ranges: the Greater Himalayas or Himadri, the lesser Himalayas or Himachal, and the outer Himalayas or Shivalik.

The Indo-Gangetic plains are large alluvial plains dominated by three main rivers, the Indus, Ganges, and Brahmaputra.

The Peninsular plateau is a tableland. It is composed of the old crystalline, igneous and metamorphic rocks and broadly categorised into the Central Highlands and the Deccan Plateau.

The Thar Desert forms a significant portion of western India and covers an area of 200,000 to 238,700 sq km in Rajasthan, covering 61% of its geographic area.

To the west of the Western Ghats and the east of Eastern Ghats lie the Eastern Coastal plains and Western Coastal plains.

Lakshadweep, and Andaman and Nicobar are the part of Indian island groups. Lakshadweep Islands are located in the Arabian Sea. The Andaman and the Nicobar Islands lie to the southeast of the Indian mainland in the Bay of Bengal.

To Access the full content, Please Purchase